top of page

I do!

Oh New Zealand Weddings Magazine I really do!!

So many wonderful, beautiful, wedding dresses walked down that runway. I adored so many dresses – often commenting ‘I want that one’ – particularly on lavish dresses that were slim fitting, off-the -shoulder, or had beautiful back detail; Vinka Design, Jessica Bridal, and Modes were my top 3 favourites.

After all having sore feet from walking 20-minutes, in heels, because of my huge venue stuff up, (I took the girls to Spark arena – I have no idea what I was thinking but I am putting it down to exhaustion), we were cheekily snuck in, seated at the back, and were totally stoked for our first runway show.

The New Zealand Weddings Magazine Show’s opening medley showcased 7 different designer’s gorgeous offerings and had me wanting to go wedding dress shopping immediately.

Silk satins, fit-and flare designs, beaded back designs, and bare skin were seen across many of the teaser dresses shown from Anna Schimmel who opened the medley. While Alma Wong showcased gorgeous plunging lace gowns that were stunning as they walked the runway.

Vinka Design had stunning lace dresses, with one gown that was heavily beaded on a tulle bodice. Admittedly I fell in love with this designer!

Hera Couture and Daisy by Katie Yeung had bohemian cute looks that included off-the-shoulder and cowl necklines, while Margaret Wray showcased vintage looks with champagne colours.

Trish Peng, known for her extravagant ideas only confirmed for me why so many women look up to her for wedding dress inspiration. Her stunning sweet-heart neckline pieces matched with memorable white lunar balloons made for a show-stopping end to the medley.

Working Style showcased a range of suits that will give grooms just that little bit more attention on their big day. Taking inspiration from the ‘dapper’ era models walked the runway in unexpected colour combinations of blues, salmons, and duchess colours while plain and printed shirts were used to add to the sleek, tailored look; providing a contemporary statement to what we have come to know as the 'traditional groom's suit'.

Jessica Bridal had a variety of dresses showing the vastness of the bridal fashion scope. Jessica Wu introduced some new concepts of wedding gowns; first being the lace crop top paired with a sleek long lace skirt that was lined with a beautiful floral silk. I am a lover (or a sucker depending on how you look at it) for beautiful floral prints and having it subtly hidden in the lining it was such a stunning way to bring colour into the traditional white of a wedding dress.

Other concepts included a number of princess gowns and fit-and-flare dresses with design elements such as off-the-shoulder necklines, pockets – yes POCKETS! – extravagant tulle capes, long sleeves that skimmed the floor, 1920s Swarkoski crystal beaded backs, and transparent long, removable, trains. Safe to say Jessica Bridal was a highlight of the show.

Barkers provided an extension of the black-tie look for the classic groom with the addition of linen, colour, and texture. Summer trends were evident throughout Barkers show with white single, and double breasted blazers, mix and match shirts, and unbuttoned shorter lapel tuxedos; guaranteeing a matching couple of gorgeousness for the outside wedding!

Modes, finished up the show and was another designer that had my jaw hitting the ground – and quite honestly will be the first place I visit if/when I need a wedding dress. They began their segment with fitted sleek gowns that I adored, one even had a plain front with an exquisite all-lace back; their use of colours of ivory, champagne and dove grey were refreshing and stunning.

My favourite piece from Modes was a floral print off-the-shoulder-dress bodice that was paired with a beautiful white princess skirt but what’s more the young ‘flower’ girl that she was walking down the runway with wore a gorgeous dress in a similar bold print. This concept has just blown my mind and that will be my girl and I one day.

Accessories across the different designers included flower headbands, tiaras, pearls, over-sized sparkly headbands, and barely-there headbands that just looked like scattered jewels in the model’s loosely curled hair – all stunning and fitted well with the dresses.

Bridalwear is supposed to be beautiful, elegant, and just jaw-droppingly stunning but this runway show was honestly next level. I have never had so much adoration for wedding dresses until this up-close and personal experience. Seeing the dresses walk the runway, watching them flow, watching them move – there really is nothing quite like a fashion runway show.

It is safe to say that New Zealand Weddings Magazine has me completely hooked and I’m SO ready for a wedding dress… or perhaps 10 ;)


  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
bottom of page